Eight New Zealand crews raced at World Rowing Cup II from 16 to 19 June.

Poznań, Poland


World Rowing Cup II in Poznań, Poland, back in June was the New Zealand Elite teams first taste of World Rowing action since the2019 World Rowing Championships, and included nine athletes making their debut on the elite international stage.

James Scott made his elite debut in the men’s single and won his D final. Charlotte Spence and Kirstyn Goodger both competed in the women’s single. Goodger placed second in the C final, and Spence competed in the B final and held her own in a strong field of scullers, crossing the line in fifth place.

Matt Dunham won gold in the men’s lightweight single sculls in New Zealand’s first A final of the regatta. Fintan McCarthy(IRL) had a flying start, but Dunham never let the Irishman too far out of his sights. Over the middle 1000m he clawed back McCarthy’s lead; with 500m to go, their bow balls were even.

The Kiwi then showed his true pace and edged ahead to cross the finish line 1.5 seconds ahead of McCarthy. Felipe Ferreira (URU) was third.

The men’s pair of Tom Mackintosh and Matt Macdonald raced in the A final. The duo were determined to show their class and that is exactly what they did. They blasted out of the start rating 43 and set a hot pace for the rest of the field, cruising away from their competitors from 500m in. The Kiwis crossed the line in first place, five seconds clear of the Netherlands in second and USA in third.

The women’s four of Phoebe Spoors, Beth Ross, Davina Waddy and Catherine Layburn put up a great performance against an incredibly tight field in their A final, in which just five seconds separated the top five crews. The Kiwis finished in fifth place,0.06 seconds behind the USA in fourth.

The women’s quad of Stella Clayton-Greene, Georgia Nugent-O’Leary, Kristen Froude and Kate Haines pulled out a solid performance in the third500m of their B final and finished in second place behind Poland.

The men’s quad raced directly after  the women and fought hard in their B final. The crew of Jordan Parry, Brook Robertson, Phillip Wilson and Jack O’Leary finished in fifth place.